Inktober 2016 Part 1

Inktober is a thing, in October, started by Jake Parker back in 2009. It has grown over the years but the core concept is to complete and share one ink drawing per day for the entire month. I’ll skip the detailed history and origins and leave it to you to visit the Inktober Web site for yourself as he covers it pretty well there on his site.

So, I decided to participate this year… and I have been dutifully completing at least one new drawing per day since the beginning of the month. With the exception of that week where I was without Internet access, I have been sharing my creations every day, as I complete them, on Facebook so please check me out there to see what I’m drawing new each day!

My original plan was to make a weekly post here on the blog, and collect the previous week’s worth of dailies so that I didn’t interrupt my comic strip during the week. My Internet outage killed that plan as it spanned more than a week’s duration and killed what would have been my first two weekly update segments… but finally, I’m going to start catching up today.

I decided to go small, and every drawing for Week One is a 2.5 x 3.5 inch personal sketch card sized illustration.

Inktober 2016 Week One:

sk20-general-leeGeneral Lee

sk21-woman-faceWoman Face

sk22-black-catBlack Cat

sk23-spongebob-squarepantsSpongebob Squarepants

sk24-flashFlash

sk25-green-arrowGreen Arrow

sk26-spider-manSpider-Man

It’s easy to pick my personal favorite from the first week… Spongebob Squarepants! After that I probably like my Spider-Man card second best. Oh, and if you think that black cat looks super creepy, it might be because I gave it intentionally incorrect human-looking eyes just to be weird. 🙂

Please let me know what you think and remember, if you’d like an original commission by me or would like to hire me as an Illustrator, please use the Contact page and let me know as much as you can about your request.

6 responses

  1. […] so we came to the second week of Inktober. You can take a look at what I did for Week One, or visit the Inktober Web site to learn more about the concept. I’m continuing to play catch-up […]

    Like

  2. […] come to the third week of Inktober, and more of my daily drawings to post. Check out what I did for Week One and Week Two, or visit the Inktober Web site to learn more about the […]

    Like

  3. I learned that Inktober was a thing this year, and now there are two months in a row where I have to feel guilty for not participating in a thing I really should be participating in. (Also November because NaNoWriMo).

    I agree that your Spongebob and Spiderman are particularly good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t feel guilty… the first time I took notice of Inktober was last year but I didn’t do it… this year I told myself I ought to do it, and so far I’ve been sticking with it. I’m proud of being able to do it this year after passing last year.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Inktober brought more daily drawings to collect for the blog. See my previous posts this month for Week One, Week Two, and Week Three contributions. Also, don’t forget to checkout the Inktober Web site to […]

    Like

  5. […] check out Week One, Week Two, Week Three, and Week Four blog posts for most of my contributions last month. Also, […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Daily Doodle

by PMu Ink

i.e. Sequential... Journal... Visual...

A place to find order amidst disorder, from my point of view, using a visual medium.

PNEUMYTHOLOGY

ROBERT LAMBERT JONES III

In My Not So Humble Opinion

Just another WordPress.com site

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Silence Killed The Dinosaurs

(but it won't get me)

Some Bad Plankton

poetry, essays, photography, & drawings

Killing Jar Studio

Leslie Brenden Artist Making Art

Over the Hedge

The official blog or the Over the Hedge comic strip

LMG comic updates

Find the webcomic at lmgcomic.com

Leonard Cartoons

"A man wears a mask, and his face grows to fit it."

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

sarahgoodreau

things and not things.

Dotty Ellipsis

A comic strip / cartoon about a young married couple negotiating the banalities of modern life.

mejfote

life fashion & more

Pics by Penny

dorky cartoons about life

Baz and Kev

Smile! Have a laugh! You’ll feel better!

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Bo's Cafe Life

The writing life through the eyes of Bo, an aspiring novelist.

The Daily P.O.P.

Protecting Other People from wasting their leisure time since 2007

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

