Batman Bust Convention Sketch

Convention sketches are like a box of chocolates… you never know what you’re gonna get! 🙂 With my humble apologies to Forrest Gump, begins the tale of a convention sketch from last weekend at the Raleigh Comic Book Show.

Once I was settled in and had said my hellos to fellow guests and the show organizer, I decided to begin a convention sketch on a blank 7×10 comic backing board. Admittedly, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to draw when I began, but since I had drawn a Spider-Man last December I was at least not going to do that. So, pencil to paper and at some point I decided I wanted to draw Batman.

Had I decided to draw Batman sooner, it would have started out looking less like Orion from the New Gods! I realized I had a little bit of work to do to bring it back to being a Batman drawing and not Orion. Nothing against Orion, incidentally, and I probably should draw him too… but I was going for a more immediately recognizable character for this unsolicited sketch and I figured more people would recognize Batman.

Batman Convention Sketch

I think I managed to save it… but you can be the judge!  Oh, and in case you wonder… I found myself without proper flesh-coloring markers so I improvised with a few different colors and going for the patchwork illusion of skin tone through color overload! It just didn’t look right leaving his face white once I had colored everything else. So, my least favorite part of this one is the faux flesh tone result here, even though the illusion works from a distance… it just doesn’t hold up quite as well to up-close scrutiny.

Remember, if you’d like an original commission by me or would like to hire me as an Illustrator, please use the Contact page and let me know as much as you can about your request.

9 responses

  1. Did you do that flesh tone with markers? I like that effect! Maybe not for batman, but for something / someone else.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes… orange, yellow, purple for sure. I feel like I might have used four colors (maybe brown also) but I can’t remember for sure. I criss-crossed the colors so they filled in gaps but also left some white showing through too. It’s a little easier to do with colored pencils because I can smooth those together better than I can some of the markers I have.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Do lots of artists draw at comventions?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. A lot, but not all. Some new artists aren’t prepared to do it (I always try to practice a little bit before the shows so I can be more comfortable)… established and more popular artists are sometimes in high demand and don’t have time to draw at shows because they are already booked up before the show starts! But there’s a nice range of artists from novice to professional who will at least do quick sketches… sometimes pencil only or ink only… every once in a while someone will also do at least a little color. Prices vary according to experience and popularity of the artist as you might expect. So far, though I still haven’t sold a lot at shows, I tend to sell more prints of things I’ve already drawn than I do new sketches at the show itself.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m nit familiar with Orion, but this even looks like a bit like the Batman I recall from MY childhood (and that was a very long time ago)! Nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I feel like I mostly rescued it from not looking like Batman very much originally! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m enjoying your cartoons; they’re unique and quite entertaining.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you. I got back and forth between silly and (hopefully) insightful… I probably enjoy the silly more, but every now and then I hope I’m at least accidentally profound. It’s always good to have someone tell me that they like what I’m doing. Feedback is always cool so I know if what I think is working is actually working.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. I like silly, and sometimes dark too. Keep up the good work!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

PNEUMYTHOLOGY

ROBERT LAMBERT JONES III

In My Not So Humble Opinion

Just another WordPress.com site

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Silence Killed The Dinosaurs

(but it won't get me)

Some Bad Plankton

poetry, essays, photography, & drawings

Killing Jar Studio

Leslie Brenden Artist Making Art

Over the Hedge

The official blog or the Over the Hedge comic strip

LMG comic updates

Find the webcomic at lmgcomic.com

Leonard Cartoons

"A man wears a mask, and his face grows to fit it."

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

sarahgoodreau

things and not things.

Dotty Ellipsis

A comic strip / cartoon about a young married couple negotiating the banalities of modern life.

mejfote

life fashion & more

Pics by Penny

dorky cartoons about life

Baz and Kev

Smile! Have a laugh! You’ll feel better!

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Bo's Cafe Life

The writing life through the eyes of Bo, an aspiring novelist.

The Daily P.O.P.

Protecting Other People from wasting their leisure time since 2007

i.e. Sequential... Journal... Visual...

A place to find order amidst disorder, from my point of view, using a visual medium.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

