Sleestak, His Eyes Open!

As a kid of the 1970s, I grew up with a variety of Saturday morning fare. A cool mix of live-action and animated greatness on all the major broadcast networks, sometimes so many things on that I couldn’t watch them all! One of the live-action shows that I fondly remember was Sid & Marty Krofft’s Land of the Lost TV show…

Marshall, Will, and Holly
On a routine expedition
Met the greatest earthquake ever known…
High on the rapids
It struck their tiny raft
And plunged them down a thousand feet below…
To the Land of the Lost!

Prompted by something on a friend’s Facebook timeline last week… I was inspired to finally draw a thing that I’ve been meaning to draw for a long time now… one of my favorite characters from the Land of the Lost… a Sleestak!

Sleestak Revised

The Sleestak were enigmatic lizard-like creatures who seemed to secretly rule the Land of the Lost. Most of them were bad guys, but there was a good one that would pop up now and then. They generally hissed a lot and it was genuinely creepy, especially for a Saturday morning kids’ show.

I loved that show, even when it didn’t make any sense… which I believe was quite often actually. It so leeched its way into the public consciousness, though, that Kevin Smith’s Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back movie had a character in it who was a Federal Wildlife Marshal named Willenholly (played by Will Ferrell)! Will Ferrell would later star in a modern movie remake of the Land of the Lost as well.

The Sleestak were created, incidentally, by a man named David Gerrold who also famously created Star Trek’s Tribbles! I found this interesting, because I’ve always thought the Sleestak reminded me a little bit of the Gorn. Hence, my cryptic title for today’s blog piece which is a reference to a bit of dialog from the Star Trek: The Next Generation episode “Darmok.”

I’m already using a smaller version of this as an avatar on several online sites that I frequent… Please let me know what you think and, remember, if you’d like an original commission by me or would like to hire me as an Illustrator, please use the Contact page and let me know as much as you can about your request.

2 responses

  1. Ah, Land of the Lost – what memories! I like the highlight treatment of the eyes – it makes it pop to life

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Yeah, I’m generally getting pretty good at eyes these days I think, even alien/monster ones. I’m doing them similar to how I’ve done camera lenses… with a black/grey gradient and some white spots for “sparkle.” I need to improve my nose-work… the first version of this (not posted on my blog) had a pig-like nose that I scrapped and reworked before making this blog post… though I shared it early on Facebook for some critique.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Daily Doodle

by PMu Ink

i.e. Sequential... Journal... Visual...

A place to find order amidst disorder, from my point of view, using a visual medium.

PNEUMYTHOLOGY

ROBERT LAMBERT JONES III

In My Not So Humble Opinion

Just another WordPress.com site

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Silence Killed The Dinosaurs

Comics, Stories, Dinosaurs, Cats

Some Bad Plankton

poetry, essays, photography, & drawings

Killing Jar Studio

Leslie Brenden Artist Making Art

Over the Hedge

The official blog or the Over the Hedge comic strip

LMG comic updates

Find the webcomic at lmgcomic.com

Leonard Cartoons

"A man wears a mask, and his face grows to fit it."

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

sarahgoodreau

things and not things.

Dotty Ellipsis

A comic strip / cartoon about a young married couple negotiating the banalities of modern life.

mejfote

life fashion & more

Pics by Penny

dorky cartoons about life

Baz and Kev

Smile! Have a laugh! You’ll feel better!

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Bo's Cafe Life

The writing life through the eyes of Bo, an aspiring novelist.

The Daily P.O.P.

Protecting Other People from wasting their leisure time since 2007

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

