Gotcha Demon Collaboration with Morganza

Morgan Welborn (Morganza) is a talented artist that I met through the Digital Webbing forums. He recently made available a high resolution scan of one of his original pencil drawings and invited other artists to collaborate with him to ink and color his illustration. I’m not the only one who has taken him up on his offer, but I’m just going to blog about my efforts… 🙂

Gotcha Demon Morganza Censored

I don’t have a convenient way to post mature content here on the blog, so there are strategically placed black bars to conceal the naughtier bits. I do have an uncensored version of this up on my DeviantArt page for anyone who wants to go take a look there. I also recommend you take a look at Morganza’s DeviantArt page as well while you’re there.

I spent the better part of an evening and night working on this, plus some final tweaking the next day before finally deciding it was done. I wanted to punch up the red a bit more on the boiling man’s skin, but was afraid it might not have the desired effect since there was an all-red demon hovering there beside the cauldron. All things told, I feel pretty proud of this one. I had a strong base in the form of the original pencil drawing to work from, so I just had to decide what things I wanted to make pop in the final rendering.

This was a very good exercise for me. I’m not always happy with how I ink my own drawings. I’m far better at working digitally (either completely from scratch or over rough pencil sketches), but I’m also considerably better at inking when working over another artist’s pencils with a much stronger foundation than I typically lay down myself. I need to work on tightening up my pencil work so that I can be a more well-rounded artist, but in the meantime I also want to open myself up to more collaborations like this one to produce solid work and learn how to work better with other fellow artists.

FYI, here’s the original pencil sketch that Morganza supplied for the collaboration. I think you’ll see that all the detail is already there in his original illustration, and you can compare this to my finished rendering above to see what choices and minor changes I made along the way.

Gotcha Demon Original Sketch CensoredPlease let me know what you think of this and remember, if you’d like an original commission by me or would like to hire me as an Illustrator, please use the Contact page and let me know as much as you can about your request.

2 responses

  1. Wow! Look at that! Awesome job!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I though you might like that. It’s a little bit different from my normal fare, but it is in my wheelhouse. It was fun working on a collaboration too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

PNEUMYTHOLOGY

ROBERT LAMBERT JONES III

In My Not So Humble Opinion

Just another WordPress.com site

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Silence Killed The Dinosaurs

(but it won't get me)

Some Bad Plankton

poetry, essays, photography, & drawings

Killing Jar Studio

Leslie Brenden Artist Making Art

Over the Hedge

The official blog or the Over the Hedge comic strip

LMG comic updates

Find the webcomic at lmgcomic.com

Leonard Cartoons

"A man wears a mask, and his face grows to fit it."

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

sarahgoodreau

things and not things.

Dotty Ellipsis

A comic strip / cartoon about a young married couple negotiating the banalities of modern life.

mejfote

life fashion & more

Pics by Penny

dorky cartoons about life

Baz and Kev

Smile! Have a laugh! You’ll feel better!

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Bo's Cafe Life

The writing life through the eyes of Bo, an aspiring novelist.

The Daily P.O.P.

Protecting Other People from wasting their leisure time since 2007

i.e. Sequential... Journal... Visual...

A place to find order amidst disorder, from my point of view, using a visual medium.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

