When A Signature Becomes Art

So I was doing some riffs this past week on the origins of the names for the days of the week in my ‘Sects comic strip… and I knew Thursday was going to be about Thor. Given the silly nature of my comic strip, I couldn’t help but make mention of the Marvel Comics character, which meant I was going to give a shout out to Stan Lee as creator and perhaps the most famous Thor writer/artist of all time, Walter Simonson.

Somewhere along the line, I thought it would be cool to include a version of Simonson’s famously recognizable signature somewhere. I don’t do a lot of stylized text in my comic strip, except for sound effects… but if ever there was a time to do it, this was it! So I decided that when one of the characters spoke his name, I would use a recreation of his signature in the dialog. That necessitated my finding a good reference and then recreating Walter Simonson’s signature, which of course led to this…

Simonson Dinosaur SignatureFor those who didn’t already see it this week, please take a look at Thurday’s episode of ‘Sects and you can see how this was used in context. There’s also a surreal visual gag that I hope landed as well on the page as it did in my strange brain.

Meanwhile, as I was rendering his famous brontosaurus-shaped signature I had a surreal moment of my own. As I was putting my signature on the finished artwork, I was struck by how I had just created an illustration of someone’s signature and then put my own signature on that! But if ever there was a signature that ought to be considered art in its own right, Walter Simonson’s has to be it. He famously was a fan of dinosaurs from way back, and had studied geology and paleontology in college, though I’ve seen him give credit to his mother in interviews for the idea to put a dinosaur spin on his own signature.

Mr. Simonson hooked me from the beginning with his epic run on Thor back in the 1980s. To be honest, while I’ve always liked the character, it always seemed to be missing something. Though the character was clearly inspired by Norse mythology, it never really felt like that mythology played a part in the comic until Simonson’s run. There is no doubt he injected the whole landscape of Norse mythology into Thor in a way that had never been done before, and you can clearly see Simonson’s influence on the book since his departure as they still build on even little things that he introduced back in the day.

A happy footnote here too… yesterday I was informed by one of my blog followers who knows Mr. Simonson that apparently he not only read my comic strip this Thursday, but thought it was funny. That was a cool surprise to end the week, as I had never even entertained the notion of what if he saw what I did. Hard to top someone you’ve liked and admired for a long time seeing a little thing you’ve done and giving a nod of approval!

Leave a Reply

Daily Doodle

by PMu Ink

i.e. Sequential... Journal... Visual...

A place to find order amidst disorder, from my point of view, using a visual medium.

PNEUMYTHOLOGY

ROBERT LAMBERT JONES III

In My Not So Humble Opinion

Just another WordPress.com site

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Silence Killed The Dinosaurs

Comics, Stories, Dinosaurs, Cats

Some Bad Plankton

poetry, essays, photography, & drawings

Killing Jar Studio

Leslie Brenden Artist Making Art

Over the Hedge

The official blog or the Over the Hedge comic strip

LMG comic updates

Find the webcomic at lmgcomic.com

Leonard Cartoons

"A man wears a mask, and his face grows to fit it."

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

sarahgoodreau

things and not things.

Dotty Ellipsis

A comic strip / cartoon about a young married couple negotiating the banalities of modern life.

mejfote

life fashion & more

Pics by Penny

dorky cartoons about life

Baz and Kev

Smile! Have a laugh! You’ll feel better!

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Bo's Cafe Life

The writing life through the eyes of Bo, an aspiring novelist.

The Daily P.O.P.

Protecting Other People from wasting their leisure time since 2007

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

