Vampirella is Coming to Get You!

More fun with simple animation… this time with my recent Vampirella illustration.

VampirellaIt’s admittedly a little clumsy in places, but I was trying to get the most bang for buck out of just 10 frames. Shrinking the image made it almost a worthless endeavor, and keeping the image larger meant exponentially larger final size with each added frame. So I tried to maneuver some of the individual bats around a bit in the background so they were doing more than just growing in size.

Also, it’s a nice happy accident that Vampirella walking is an illusion created solely by mirroring her image left-to-right in each successive frame. Amazing how just that, makes the hips sway and the feet appear to be moving alternately in front of each other.

This is just one fun example of something you can do to re-purpose a clean vector illustration once you have one. A lot easier to manipulate and maintain high-quality images in each frame when working this way than when working with a bitmap source image. Please, as always, let me know what you think!

9 responses

  1. Although it’s the same drawing I prefer yours simply because of the color you added to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A good inker and colorist try to add something to the original pencil drawing underneath. If I’ve managed to do that well, then that’s a cool thing to know. Thanks!

      Like

  2. Hey Stew, I love this…and with only ten frames. I’m feeling inspired as I draw in vector too, so your comments on ease is valid. How did you assemble it – what app did you use. I assume the file you uploaded is a gif?

    PS. I was wondering where you’d got to as I haven’t received emails notifying me of another post, but I can see you’re still here. Have you changed something in your WordPress settings?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did all the frame tweaks in Illustrator, saving each out as a PNG file… no reason, just my default lately. Then I used Photoshop to assemble them and create the animated GIF. There are some free tools out there to make animated GIFs, so if I didn’t have Photoshop handy I would use that. FYI, on the notification front… I don’t see you anymore on the list of followers. I’ve had a few people disappear lately, and some of them almost immediately came back… so I’m thinking something randomly kicked out a few people and only some of them discovered it. Maybe you can try following again? I’ve been having Facebook issues lately too… some posts from the blog disappearing and reappearing… some never showing up at all!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok, I will follow again

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I think that may have worked… FYI, I re-followed you as well. I always check out your blog anyway, but somewhere along the way it somehow disappeared from my list too… I just hadn’t noticed since I also had subscribed to emails from you so I was always getting those notices.

          Like

    2. Oh, and to answer more of your “how’d I do it”… a lot of cheating. A lot of it is scaling smaller each frame then mirroring Vampi and those larger two bats. Then, I also had to readjust the bats in the background each frame after shrinking… and to keep it from looking too bland, I moved a few of the smaller bats around a bit so it looks like they are flying from the big mass… Basically, the way I work these animations is I draw (or use my initial drawing) the final frame first and work backwards. So then when I create the animated GIF I have to import them in reverse order than how I created them. The more things I have moving around, the more advanced planning it takes since you might end up having to move multiple things in each frame as you go.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Just got email confirming my subscription, so fingers crossed. PS noticed you followed me and it is to my old .wordpress site so don’t think you will get any notifications as I am on.com only

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I need to check over my subscriber list sometime and see if anyone else accidentally dropped. I definitely haven’t had to kick anyone off for any reason… and the site obviously recognized and allowed you to comment… so not sure why it had kicked you out as a subscriber but I’m pretty sure that is why you stopped getting the notices. Hopefully that’s rectified now! I’ll keep an eye on the follow I just did for you… Now I’m curious what will happen since it’s your old site that it had me follow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Daily Doodle

by PMu Ink

i.e. Sequential... Journal... Visual...

A place to find order amidst disorder, from my point of view, using a visual medium.

PNEUMYTHOLOGY

ROBERT LAMBERT JONES III

In My Not So Humble Opinion

Just another WordPress.com site

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Silence Killed The Dinosaurs

Comics, Stories, Dinosaurs, Cats

Some Bad Plankton

poetry, essays, photography, & drawings

Killing Jar Studio

Leslie Brenden Artist Making Art

Over the Hedge

The official blog or the Over the Hedge comic strip

LMG comic updates

Find the webcomic at lmgcomic.com

Leonard Cartoons

"A man wears a mask, and his face grows to fit it."

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

sarahgoodreau

things and not things.

Dotty Ellipsis

A comic strip / cartoon about a young married couple negotiating the banalities of modern life.

mejfote

life fashion & more

Pics by Penny

dorky cartoons about life

Baz and Kev

Smile! Have a laugh! You’ll feel better!

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Bo's Cafe Life

The writing life through the eyes of Bo, an aspiring novelist.

The Daily P.O.P.

Protecting Other People from wasting their leisure time since 2007

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

