Archie and Meathead

So, last weekend I had an idea for a fun mash-up that I honestly cannot believe has not been done already… All in the Family meets Archie!

Archie and Meathead

Sometimes an idea is funnier in my head than it ends up being on the page… or it feels too derivative of something else. You kind of have to be familiar with Archie, Jughead, Betty, and Veronica AND also with Archie Bunker and Michael Stivic from All in the Family to really get the bit. I realize that might be a very specifically targeted audience! 🙂

The goal was to capture the essence of Archie Bunker and draw everything in the traditional Archie comic style. I think it turned out pretty well, and I’m still astonished that I could not find evidence of anyone having done this parody previously!

Let me know what you think, and remember, if you are interested in requesting my services as an Illustrator, please use the Contact page and let me know as much as you can about your request.

6 responses

  1. Ah, so this is what you were referring to. Clever idea….I must confess that I fall into the ignorant category, but I do know Archie comics. Nice touch in upper left corner, referring to Bunker 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah… I drew this last Sunday and unless I’m completely inept at searching, can’t find evidence that anyone has ever made this connection. I grew up on both of these, and even I didn’t connect the dots until now. I realized a lot of people might not get the whole joke, though, as All in the Family hasn’t been on TV in quite a while now. I think if you just saw one episode, it is enough to get the gag though, so it doesn’t require a lot of investment for anyone who felt lost and looked up a few clips on Youtube or something.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s awesomely witty. 🙂 You are right. No one else has ever thought of this? Maybe they did but don’t have it available online.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks… I have to think someone somewhere has thought of this before… but I’m happy to carry the torch until someone crawls out of the woodwork to stake a prior claim! 🙂

      Like

  3. Very clever, Stewart! I loved and recognized the styles immediately. Fun piece!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 🙂 Just one of those happy accidental cool ideas that I get once or twice a year!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

PNEUMYTHOLOGY

ROBERT LAMBERT JONES III

In My Not So Humble Opinion

Just another WordPress.com site

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Silence Killed The Dinosaurs

(but it won't get me)

Some Bad Plankton

poetry, essays, photography, & drawings

Killing Jar Studio

Leslie Brenden Artist Making Art

Over the Hedge

The official blog or the Over the Hedge comic strip

LMG comic updates

Find the webcomic at lmgcomic.com

Leonard Cartoons

"A man wears a mask, and his face grows to fit it."

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

sarahgoodreau

things and not things.

Dotty Ellipsis

A comic strip / cartoon about a young married couple negotiating the banalities of modern life.

mejfote

life fashion & more

Pics by Penny

dorky cartoons about life

Baz and Kev

Smile! Have a laugh! You’ll feel better!

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Bo's Cafe Life

The writing life through the eyes of Bo, an aspiring novelist.

The Daily P.O.P.

Protecting Other People from wasting their leisure time since 2007

i.e. Sequential... Journal... Visual...

A place to find order amidst disorder, from my point of view, using a visual medium.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

