Norman, Reedus in Please!

As a fan of the Walking Dead (comic books and TV show), I am well aware of the new series Fear the Walking Dead that begins this coming Sunday night on AMC! Though there is no Daryl Dixon in that series, it felt appropriate to draw Norman Reedus in advance of the weekend anyway. Daryl, as portrayed by Norman, is a fan-favorite and though he was created for the TV series (his character does not exist in the original comic book) he fits right in with the group of apocalyptic survivors.

Norman Reedus as Daryl DixonThe photo reference used here was a still from a standoff scene in a hospital from season five. I will not say more specifically what is going on for folks that are still catching up to last season of the show. There were other characters in the reference I used, but I only wanted to draw Daryl. Oh, and you’ll note… that while I did draw the strap around the front of his chest, I did not draw his crossbow hanging behind his back. This was a conscious choice as most of it really would not have been visible and I think it would have just drawn focus away from the rest of the pose.

For anyone keeping count of my real-people inspired illustrations this year, the count now stands even at two men and two women drawn thus far. Please let me know what you think of this one. Remember, if you are interested in requesting my services as an Illustrator, please use the Contact page and let me know as much as you can about your request.

6 responses

  1. YEAH!! Great job! I love Daryl, he’s my favorite character. But I’m behind on this season so thank you for not spoiling anything.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! And you’re welcome for the lack of spoilers… I binge watch some shows myself, and while I don’t mind spoilers, I didn’t want to be the one spoiling anything for anyone else! You’ll know what scene this picture comes from when you catch up to it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! These series is still going? I was into it for the first season. And some of the second. I mainly watched it because of its association with Breaking Bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Season six starts in a couple of months… and meanwhile this weekend a new spinoff show for Walking Dead starts. It seems to be going strong at the moment. I might be misunderstanding something, but other than being on the same network (AMC) I don’t know what connection it had to Breaking Bad… though I wish I had been watching that show when it was on.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Associated as in it was the lead in for Breaking Bad, meaning it came on before it aired. Or maybe afterwards? Now I don’t even remember if it was the same day. But anyway, that’s how I found out about WD. It just didn’t hold my attention. I mean, it seems like the concept is prolonged.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m pretty sure you’re right about them being on the same day… I think most of the AMC new programming is on Sunday nights actually.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

PNEUMYTHOLOGY

ROBERT LAMBERT JONES III

In My Not So Humble Opinion

Just another WordPress.com site

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Silence Killed The Dinosaurs

(but it won't get me)

Some Bad Plankton

poetry, essays, photography, & drawings

Killing Jar Studio

Leslie Brenden Artist Making Art

Over the Hedge

The official blog or the Over the Hedge comic strip

LMG comic updates

Find the webcomic at lmgcomic.com

Leonard Cartoons

"A man wears a mask, and his face grows to fit it."

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

sarahgoodreau

things and not things.

Dotty Ellipsis

A comic strip / cartoon about a young married couple negotiating the banalities of modern life.

mejfote

life fashion & more

Pics by Penny

dorky cartoons about life

Baz and Kev

Smile! Have a laugh! You’ll feel better!

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Bo's Cafe Life

The writing life through the eyes of Bo, an aspiring novelist.

The Daily P.O.P.

Protecting Other People from wasting their leisure time since 2007

i.e. Sequential... Journal... Visual...

A place to find order amidst disorder, from my point of view, using a visual medium.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

