Something Mortyfyingly Ricked This Way Comes…

So… Rick and Morty is a thing… a cartoon on Cartoon Network’s Adult Swim lineup. I almost missed it, as it was often on in odd time slots last year… but it is one of the most awesomely weird cartoons you’ll ever want to watch, and the second season is only a few days away now!

I actually drew this the weekend before last… and posted it on Facebook then too. I even posted it on the Rick and Morty page, and they liked it… so if Rick and Morty likes Rick and Morty, then who are you not to like Rick and Morty?  Go ahead… try not to like it… I dare you! Rick and Morty forever and ever, for a hundred years.

Rick and Morty Final

So… I actually created two final versions of this image, and here’s the secret behind-the-scenes scoop why… I didn’t like my original final piece. I’m not quite as skilled at hand-inking and hand-lettering as I’d like to be… some of that is the tools I have at my disposal, and the rest is lack of practice from years of finishing stuff on the computer where I have quite a bit more control and ease of correcting mistakes.

Rick and Morty

What I didn’t like about this one… was that the lettering ended up so much larger than I wanted, I had to omit some of the original dialog and did not have any real estate to do some of the stuff in the background that I had wanted. I don’t hate this version… it’s just not the version I wanted to create… fortunately I had the scan of my original pencil sketch…

Rick and Morty Sketch

So, returning to the original sketch, I used this as a baseline to draw the eventual final version (the topmost one in this blog post) completely digitally. If you compare my two color versions above, you can clearly see where I was able to do a better job in the ultimate final version of capturing my original concept.

What I’ve basically done as a result of this learning experience… is develop a new process for myself. I like drawing with traditional tools, but only when it yields something I’m happy with creating… and while I like having final original works that I can sell to others, that doesn’t trump the desire to create what I intend to create. So, going forward… my standard process has become:

1. Pencil sketch and layouts on paper.
2. Scan and keep the original sketch somewhere safe for future reference or potential sale.
3. Use the pencil scan as baseline to create final digital render, coloring as desired.

This gives me a best-of-both-worlds situation where I have an original pencil sketch if anyone is interested down the road, and a final digital piece that completes the vision as I saw it in my head. I hope you like this as much as I liked drawing it… and make sure you watch Rick and Morty on TV too!

Remember, if you are interested in requesting my services as an Illustrator, please use the Contact page and let me know as much as you can about your request.

5 responses

  1. Very funny. Haven’t seen R and M yet, but I’ll have to look for them.
    I happen to like your hand drawing btw.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks… I like it sometimes too, for specific things. Some things are easier for me to draw by hand, other things easier by computer. I’m constantly trying to find the right balance to get the best of both. Rick and Morty is hard to describe, but they hit a lot of different targets square on the bullseye. Probably the easiest way to describe it… it’s a really demented Back to the Future, sort of.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. You should love Rick and Morty then… I don’t usually hard-sell TV shows beyond telling people what I like and don’t like… but Rick and Morty is one of the better things to have come along in recent years.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. […] back in August and I’ve just been really lax about getting it posted. Some of you might remember a previous Rick and Morty drawing of mine. I am a huge fan of the series on Adult Swim! Some of you following me on Facebook might also […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Daily Doodle

by PMu Ink

i.e. Sequential... Journal... Visual...

A place to find order amidst disorder, from my point of view, using a visual medium.

PNEUMYTHOLOGY

ROBERT LAMBERT JONES III

In My Not So Humble Opinion

Just another WordPress.com site

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Silence Killed The Dinosaurs

(but it won't get me)

Some Bad Plankton

poetry, essays, photography, & drawings

Killing Jar Studio

Leslie Brenden Artist Making Art

Over the Hedge

The official blog or the Over the Hedge comic strip

LMG comic updates

Find the webcomic at lmgcomic.com

Leonard Cartoons

"A man wears a mask, and his face grows to fit it."

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

sarahgoodreau

things and not things.

Dotty Ellipsis

A comic strip / cartoon about a young married couple negotiating the banalities of modern life.

mejfote

life fashion & more

Pics by Penny

dorky cartoons about life

Baz and Kev

Smile! Have a laugh! You’ll feel better!

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Bo's Cafe Life

The writing life through the eyes of Bo, an aspiring novelist.

The Daily P.O.P.

Protecting Other People from wasting their leisure time since 2007

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

